May 6, 2019

2019 East-West Bowl rosters announced

TORONTO — With the 2019 Canadian Football League (CFL) draft completed Thursday night, the page turns next week to the next generation of top Canadian football prospects.

Lieutenant Governor Athletic Award finalist and reigning Hec Crighton Trophy winner Adam Sinagra of the Calgary Dinos is one of 88 players announced on Friday that will suit up for the 2019 U SPORTS East-West Bowl, which serves as the first step to identifying future CFL talent.

For the next year, players from both squads will vie for coveted spots on the CFL Scouting Bureau Top 20 Prospects List – published in August, December and April – before showcasing their skills at regional and national combines in advance of the draft next spring.

Sinagrais a favourite to crack that top 20 list. The Point Claire, Que., native led the Dinos to a perfect 8-0 season and the most potent offence in the nation, averaging 570.9 yards per game. Sinagra captured the 2018 Hec Crighton Trophy after setting a U SPORTS record with 3,233 passing yards and ranked second in the nation in passing touchdowns this season with 23.

Sinagra will share quarterback duties with Manitoba’s Des Catellier for the West team, while Acadia’s Hunter Guenard and Toronto’s Clay Sequira will be under centre for the East squad.

The game will feature a sideline rematch of the last two Vanier Cup games, as Glen Constantin of Laval and Greg Marshall of Western will be behind the two benches. Full rosters for both teams are available below.

This year’s game, slated for Saturday, May 11 at Carleton’s MNP Park, marks the first time the annual event will be held in the nation’s capital. The 17th annual top prospects game showcases the next generation of CFL stars heading into their draft years, and includes four days of practices, a combine for participating players, and a CFL free-agent camp. The week-long festivities kick off on Monday, May 6.

Tickets for the game are on sale with kickoff scheduled for 12:30 p.m. ET / 9:30 a.m. PT. The game will be livestreamed on USPORTS.LIVE free of charge, with veteran broadcaster Mark Lee and former Guelph Gryphons quarterback Justin Dunk on the call.

The West team is mostly made up of U SPORTS football players from Canada West and Ontario University Athletics (OUA) schools, except Carleton, Ottawa and Queen’s, which play for the East squad. The rest of the East team features players from AUS and Réseau du sport étudiant du Québec (RSEQ) schools.

Last year, the West narrowly edged the East 15-14 for their third straight win, extending their lead in the all-time series to 10-6. The game featured all 15 U SPORTS prospects to appear on at least one Scouting Bureau list this season, headlined by recently named U SPORTS Male Athlete of the Year and No.1-ranked Mathieu Betts from Laval, who was signed by the Chicago Bears as an undrafted free agent.


Note: Some players will play for both teams to fill out all positions


First Name Last Name School Position
Rory Kelly Acadia DB
Jadin White-Frayne Acadia DB
Émile Chênevert Laval DB
Marc-Antoine Dequoy Montreal DB
Alex Douglas Ottawa DB
Justin Julien Saint Mary’s DB
Jordan Angove Saint Mary’s DB
Jamal Johnson Toronto DB
Vince Viau Carleton DL
Samuel Rossi Montreal DL
Marshall Esokpunwu Mount Allison DL
Tramayne Stephen Ottawa DL
Reshaan Davis Ottawa DL
Cameron Lawson Queen’s DL
Mickael Badra Sherbrooke DL
Pierre-Antoine D’Astous Sherbrooke K
Kieran Burnham StFX K
Bailey Feltmate Acadia LB
Joshua Walsh Carleton LB
Samuel Brodrique Concordia LB
Adam Auclair Laval LB
Daniel Basambombo Laval LB
Brian Harelimana Montreal LB
Dylan Cormier Mount Allison LB
Jesse Lawson Carleton OL
Samuel Lefebvre Laval OL
Kétel Assé Laval OL
Myles Rose-Standish Manitoba OL
Nicholas Oppong Mount Allison OL
Joshua Mosley Queen’s OL
Jonathan Zamora StFX OL
Hunter Guenard Acadia QB
Clay Sequeira Toronto QB
Dale Wright Acadia RB
Nathan Carter Carleton RB
William Tremblay-Harnois Sherbrooke RB
Liam O’Brien Saint Mary’s RB
Cordell Hastings Acadia WR
Nathan Walker Bishop’s WR
Marc-Antoine Pivin Laval WR
Ente Eguavoen Laurier WR
Jonathan Breton-Robert Laval WR
Alex Daley York WR
Trey Kellogg UBC WR

Head Coach: Glen Constantin, Laval

Offense Coordinator: Tom Flaxman, Queen’s

Defensive Coordinator: Paul-Eddy St. Vilien, Carleton

Special Teams: Ben D’Andrea, Queen’s



First Name Last Name School Position
Reggie Schoeppe Alberta DB
Treshaun Abrahams-Webster Calgary DB
Dotun Aketepe Guelph DB
William Amoah Laurier DB
Noah Hallet McMaster DB
Nolan Putt McMaster DB
Dion Pellerin Waterloo DB
Bleska Kambamba Western DB
Carter Wilson Guelph DL
Sam Acheampong Laurier DL
Brock Gowanlock Manitoba DL
Zach Houghron Laurier DL
Nicholas Dheilly Saskatchewan DL
Rossini Sandjong York DL
Niko DiFonte Calgary K
Marc Liegghio Western K
Aaron Chabaylo Alberta LB
Justice Momoka Alberta LB
Jersey Henry Concordia LB
Michael Reid Waterloo LB
Kurtis Gray Waterloo LB
Damien Jamieson York LB
Carter O’Donnell Alberta OL
Coulter Woodmansey Guelph OL
Andrew Becker Regina OL
Theren Churchill Regina OL
Mattland Riley Saskatchewan OL
Nicholas Summach Saskatchewan OL
Ryley Butler UBC OL
Saeed Hosain UBC OL
Dylan Giffen Western OL
Adam Sinagra Calgary QB
Des Catellier Manitoba QB
Jake Puskas Queen’s RB
Colton Klassen Saskatchewan RB
Kayden Johnson York RB
Kian Schaffer-Baker Guelph WR
Brendan McCracken Laurier WR
Brentyn Hall Laurier WR
Macho Bockru Manitoba WR
Samuel Baker Saskatchewan WR
Trey Kellogg UBC WR
Tyler Ternowski Waterloo WR
Brett Ellerman Western WR
Mitch Raper Carleton FB


Head Coach: Greg Marshall, Western

Offense Coordinator: Mark Surya, Guelph

Defensive Coordinator: Dwayne Cameron, Laurier

Special Teams: Brendan Conway, Waterloo